Written Test Results

October 15, 2005

I have just received a letter from the City of Los Angeles’ Public Safety Bureau, informing me that I have passed the written test:

We are pleased to inform you that you have passed the Multiple-choice [sic] portion of the examination for entry-level law enforcement employment.

Los Angeles Police Officer candidates are usually scheduled for a Police Officer [sic] interview at the time of the written test. If you need to reschedule your interview or have any questions, please contact us at the number below.

I called “the number below,” to see when I can go in for my police officer interview. After all, I have to plan another trip to Los Angeles to do this. I learned that these interviews are no longer being conducted. (It would seem that the application process is ever-evolving in the light of the fact that LA is trying to hire 1,400 new cops by the end of fiscal year 2007.) In lieu of an interview, the next phase to my application process is to take the Personal Qualifications Essay (PQE). No appointment is required. I simply show up and write a few essays.

Out of town applicants used to be lured by LAPD recruitment with expedited testing, which means that several portions of the application process can be knocked out in a week. Recently, this expedited testing option has been extended to everyone. Unfortunately, I am not eligible for this option.

The reason I am no eligible for expedited testing is that on my Preliminary Background Application (or PBA, which I filled out when I took the written test), I admitted to marijuana use. That was almost 20 years ago. Moreover, I had a little skirmish with the law as a young adult. Nothing serious, as I have never been convicted of a crime. Nevertheless, these things are weighing against me at the moment. It looks like passing each phase of the application process will mean another trip to LA.

For now, my next mission is to get to LA and take the PQE.

Leave a Reply

